We are absolutely thrilled to announce that world-acclaimed pianist CECILE LICAD will be joining us as featured artist for all three concerts of the 2017/18 season, performing the works of Chopin, Shostakovich and Saint-Saëns, and bookended by the gorgeous music of Tchaikovsky and Mozart.

2017/18 Season | A NEW STAGE
The Empress Theater
Marc Taddei, conductor
Cecile Licad, piano

Join your Vallejo Symphony for a new season at the beautiful Empress Theatre in downtown Vallejo and celebrate some of the most beautiful music ever written. 

October 15, 2017 | January 28, 2018 | April 15, 2018


Full Season Subscription | All 3 Concerts

Orchestra: $132
Lower Balcony: SOLD OUT
Upper Balcony: $84

Single Tickets On Sale August 15



October 15, 2017

Tchaikovsky – The Tempest

Chopin – Piano Concerto No. 1

Mozart – Symphony #39

Cecile Licad takes the stage performing Chopin Piano Concerto No. 1, a lush and romantic work composed in his teens that set the stage for an illustrious career to come. Tchaikovsky’s The Tempest begins with a storm like none before, its rage clearing the seas and stage for the plot to unfold. Maestro Taddei introduces the third theme of the season with Mozart's Symphony No. 39, the first of his final Symphonies, all composed within a year of one another. Join us for our season kickoff as we celebrate the power of beginnings in our new home, the Empress Theatre!


January 28,2018

Tchaikovsky – Romeo and Juliet

Shostakovich – Piano Concerto #1

Mozart – Symphony #40

Our second concert is filled with the drama of opposing forces. Maestro Taddei showcases Mozart’s grandest Symphony, the Great G minor, one of only two minor symphonic works in the composer’s repertoire and filled with unmatched drama. Cecile Licad will stun with Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No. 1, composed in the wake of censure from the hostile Soviet government. And finally, the most famous love story ever written, Romeo & Juliet, is heartbreakingly told through Tchaikovsky’s masterful lyricism. Join us for a ride through three of the most revolutionary pieces in our composers’ careers.  


april 15, 2018

Tchaikovsky – Hamlet

Saint-Saëns – Piano Concerto #1

Mozart – Symphony #41, Jupiter

Our season concludes with Cecile Licad’s performance of Saint-Saëns’s lush Piano Concerto No. 2. Mozart’s symphonic career ends spectacularly with the grand Jupiter Symphony, No. 41. Tchaikovsky’s final and most difficult tone poem, Hamlet, resolves in the drama of a monarchy come to its end. Join us in celebrating the resolution of our magnificent season!